Mission Statement

“The Minnesota Racing Commission operates in the public interest to ensure the integrity of horse racing and card playing, oversee the proper distribution of funds back into the industry, and provide for the safety and welfare of the human and equine participants. Additionally, the Commission works to promote the horse racing and breeding industry in Minnesota in order to provide economic stimulus, offer residents and visitors an exciting entertainment option, and support agriculture and rural agribusiness.”

Executive Director

Steve May








The Racing Commission is comprised of nine members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate for six-year terms.


Photo of Commissioner James Lane
James Lane III, Chair
Term Expires: 6/30/2021

Jim Lane is in his second 6-year term as a Minnesota Racing Commission member.  He was appointed in 2009 and reappointed in 2015.  He is current Commission Chair, chairs the Administrative Affairs Committee, and is a member of the Racing Committee. Jim is a graduate of Princeton University and William Mitchell College of Law.  For the past 20 years he has maintained a general law practice in Minneapolis that includes equine law.  He is a former member of the Board of Directors of the Animal Humane Society and was a founding member of the Minnesota Horse Welfare Coalition in 2008.  He also is a horse sports enthusiast, having played polo with the Twin City Polo Club for 20 years and ridden for pleasure most of his life.

photo of Commissioner Dan Erhart
Dan Erhart
Term Expires: 6/30/2023

Dan Erhart was appointed to the MRC in 2012, and also serves on the commission’s finance committee. A graduate of the University of Minnesota with a Bachelor of Science Degree, Mr. Erhart has served 30 years as an Anoka County Commissioner, serving as chair for 18 of those years.  Mr. Erhart’s previous employment in various management positions in the areas of finance, production, and government relations brings a wealth of experience to the MRC.

Photo of Commissioner Camille McArdle
Camille McArdle, DVM
Term Expires: 6/30/2023

Dr. Camille McArdle was originally appointed to the MRC in 1993 and currently serves on the racing and compliance committees.  She began her involvement with the racing industry by grooming and exercising horses at south Florida tracks.  Dr. McArdle earned her doctorate in veterinary medicine in 1982 from Ohio State University.  Following graduation she served as the official regulatory veterinarian at Hialeah, Calder, and Gulfstream Park, as well as at the Pompano harness meet.  In 1985, Dr. McArdle was recruited for the position of Chief Commission Veterinarian for the MRC to help get pari-mutuel racing started in this state.  Dr. McArdle is presently a shelter veterinarian.

Photo of Commissioner Roy Johnson

Roy Johnson
Term Expires: 6/30/2023

Roy has worked for Cargill Animal Nutrition since 1993.  He is responsible for the development of horse feeds and farm products for Cargill Feed and Nutrition for North America.  In that capacity, he helps create the education, management and support materials that are used by equine consultants across the world.

Prior to joining Cargill, Roy was an Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota-Waseca for 17 years where he taught equine management, training and nutrition.  He has been a licensed show horse judge for 39 years.  Roy received his B.S. and M.S. degrees from the University of Minnesota.

Julie Idelkope
Term Expires: 6/30/2025

Julie Idelkope was appointed as a commissioner for the Racing Commission in November 2019. She will hold a spot on the Commission’s Administrative Affairs Committee. Idelkope received a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Urban Planning from the University of Minnesota and was named a Policy Fellow at the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs. She has over 20 years of experience in corporate government affairs and as a state and local public official.


Photo of Commissioner Lisa Goodman
Lisa Goodman
Term Expires: 6/30/2025

Lisa Goodman was appointed to the Minnesota Racing Commission in March, 2014 and also serves on the Administrative Affairs Committee.  She is a native of Chicago, Illinois, and graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with a degree in Political Science and Labor Relations. Ms. Goodman is currently an elected member of the Minneapolis City Council, representing the 7th ward, and is the Chairperson of the City Council’s Community Development and Regulatory Services Committee. She serves on the Board of Directors of the Family Housing Fund, Meet Minneapolis, Midwest Legacy Fund, and Dog Grounds LLC which she founded to build off-leash dog parks in downtown Minneapolis.

Photo of Commissioner Alan Gingold
Alan Gingold
Term Expires: 6/30/2025

Alan Gingold became a member of the MRC in March, 2014 and also chairs the commission’s Finance committee. Mr. Gingold has a Master of Science degree in Finance and is a Chartered Financial Analyst. He is the Chief Financial Officer and a shareholder of Lorenz Bus Service which he and another shareholder acquired in 1994.  Since the early 1970’s until 1994 Mr. Gingold was an investment banker, principally with Piper, Jaffray & Hopwood, and a private investor.

Raymond Dehn
Term Expires: 6/30/2021


Photo of Commissioner Barbara Colombo
Barbara Colombo
Term Expires: 6/30/2021

Barbara Colombo, is a Professor and Director of the Health Care Compliance Certification Program at Mitchell Hamline University School of Law in St. Paul, MN.  She graduated with honors from William Mitchell College of Law and practiced with the law firm of Robins, Kaplan, Miller and Ciresi.  Prior to her law career, Ms. Colombo practiced as a critical care registered nurse.  She has also served as the Assistant Commissioner for the Minnesota Department of Health and is a former member of the Animal Humane Society focusing on equine matters.  Ms. Colombo is the President of the Minnesota Horse Welfare Coalition and co-founded the Minnesota Hay Bank in 2012 which has dispersed over $40,000 of feed and other assistance to Minnesota’s most vulnerable horses.

Duties of the Racing Commission

The legislature has empowered the Racing Commission to carry out the following duties including, among others, the authority to:

  1. Regulate horse racing and card playing at Minnesota racetracks to ensure that they are conducted in the public interest;
  2. Issue licenses;
  3. Enforce all laws and rules governing horse racing and card playing;
  4. Collect and distribute all taxes under MS Chapter 240;
  5. Conduct investigations necessary to carry out its duties;
  6.  Supervise the conduct of pari-mutuel betting on horse racing and card playing;
  7.  Employ and supervise personnel under MS Chapter 240;
  8. Determine the number of racing days to be held in the state at each licensed racetrack;
  9. Take all necessary steps to ensure the integrity of racing and card playing in Minnesota; and
  10. Impose fees on the racing and card playing industries sufficient to recover the operating costs of the Commission.

Biennial Report 2019 & 2020

Annual Report 2018

2018 Annual report -click for full document

Staff Report to the Minnesota Racing Commission on Sports Betting

 Staff Report on Sports Betting - Click for full document









2017 Annual Report

2017 Annual Report Cover - click to enter PDF

Economic Contribution of Minnesota’s Horse Racing Industry 2016

Economic Contribution of Minnesota's Horse Racing Industry - click for full document

Annual Report 2016

2016 Annual Report - click for full document

Annual Report 2015

2015 Annual Rpt Cover - click for full document

Annual Report to the Governor

Report to Gov. Dayton - click for full document